whether or not Your lips move

You speak to me

wheel January 27, 2009

Filed under: parenting,relationship with God,words — Ash @ 1:19 pm

And the tongue is a flame of fire. It is full of wickedness that can ruin your whole life. It can turn the entire course of your life into a blazing flame of destruction, for it is set on fire by hell itself. (James 3:6, NLT)

And the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness. The tongue is set among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the entire course of life, and set on fire by hell. (James 3:6, ESV)

And the tongue is a fire, the very world of iniquity; the tongue is set among our members as that which defiles the entire body, and sets on fire the course of our life, and is set on fire by hell. (James 3:6, NASB)

Just an interesting observation on a couple of words in this verse. The words translated “the entire course of your life” are Greek words meaning “wheel” (trochos) and “source, origin; used of birth, nativity; of that which follows origin, existence, life” (genesis).

As I reflect on this verse, it makes me think back to my childhood. My “wheel of origin.” Words were often tossed around carelessly and sometimes were aimed to cut to the heart, and not just by my family; I myself did (and sometimes still do) the same thing. One thing my husband and I have talked through together extensively is the importance of our using words for healing and building our future children. He has been absolutely instrumental in showing me the healthy way to use words, the calmer way, the more grace-full way. It can be so very easy to default to the “wheel” of living that was set forth for us by our families and friends growing up. I want our kids to start out with a healthy wheel, not one that is set on fire from the very start. I pray our future home will be one with Christ at the center of the wheel, one with His love spreading to every other part. We will seek to break the cycle of careless, harmful, abusive, unhealthy words that has existed in my life’s “wheel.”

Because our children will be the “tender grass” upon which our rainwords will fall.

 

One Response to “wheel”

  1. Ariah Fine Says:

    cool. Thanks for sharing that.


Leave a Reply

