whether or not Your lips move

You speak to me

rainwords January 15, 2009

Filed under: memorization,relationship with God,words — Ash @ 12:05 pm

My second memory verse for January:

“May my teaching drop as the rain, my speech distill as the dew, like gentle rain upon the tender grass, and like showers upon the herb.”
Deuteronomy 32:2 (ESV)

Reasons I chose this verse:

I’ve recently begun writing and teaching an “Intro to Bible 101” class at my house on Saturdays. I need my “teaching” to be refreshing to the precious people who have committed to journey along with me. There isn’t anything in the world I love more than helping another person have a WOW moment with the Word and its Author.

I also struggle a lot with anxiety over words I’ve spoken throughout the day and over-analyzing my interactions with people. I rarely ever say something that I need to apologize for (as far as I know– I really hope a person would approach me if I said something that hurt them), but continually fear I have. I am not from the south, and I fear that sometimes what I see as just speaking my mind may come across as rude here. And that is the farthest thing from what I want to be.

Neat things I see about this verse:

Our words are like water… I’m not a scientist, but I’ve heard that water is the most powerful substance on earth. Like, it can carve through rocks and stuff. It is essential for things to grow and to stay alive. I can see a lot of parallels with our words. They can slice through a person. They can drown. They can refresh. They can put out a fire. They can cultivate.

I’ve always wanted to be a poet-gardener.

 

One Response to “rainwords”

  1. […] our children will be the “tender grass” upon which our rainwords will fall. […]


Leave a Reply

