whether or not Your lips move

You speak to me

fire and water January 8, 2009

Filed under: faith,grace,relationship with God,testing — Ash @ 11:49 am

Okay, I’m not sure what it is, but I am just really bad at keeping up with this blog! I am going to try to be better, folks.

One thing I find challenging is knowing how much to “put out there,” y’know? How much do I really want a random stranger to know about me and my life? How much is too much? How much is too little? Am I prideful to think that people will actually benefit from my random musings?

Anywho.

I’m attempting the 1st and 15th Scripture Memory Challenge along with a couple thousand others over at the Living Proof Ministries blog (Beth Moore). In an effort to help me not only memorize and meditate, but also remind me to DO it, perhaps I can blog about the verse(s) I choose.

For January 1 I chose:

Zechariah 13:9 (NIV)

This third I will bring into the fire; I will refine them like silver and test them like gold. They will call on my name and I will answer them; I will say, “They are my people,” and they will say, “The LORD is our God.”

I chose this verse because I have really felt like I’m going through some “refining and testing” fires lately. Nothing big; in fact, most of it has been almost undetectable. Which I find interesting, because normally I take notice of the more catastrophic things in my life as refining and testing. The fires have come more in the form of my own nature, insecurities, issues, and hang-ups.

I also get excited about the first verse of this chapter:

Zechariah 13:1 (NIV)

On that day a fountain will be opened to the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem, to cleanse them from sin and impurity.

Can we say messianic prophecy?!! Water sounds a little more soothing than fire…

So… this year I am praying that the fires will purify and the waters will cleanse. It doesn’t sound particularly fun, but I want God to see Jesus in me. And if that means a bit of pain and discomfort, then I must trust He knows how much this “gold” can take.

“Real gold fears no fire.”

 

Leave a Reply

